CIPR Scotland AGM 2014 Update

Thanks to everyone who came to last night’s AGM.

If you want to catch up you can watch again via the live stream.Full minutes will be posted  in due course, but in the meantime please see the update below.

At last night’s AGM the group appointed a new chair, vice chair and secretary.

Katrine Pearson, last year’s vice chair and an associate director at 3×1 Public Relations, succeeds Laura Sutherland as chair who has stepped down from her role after two years. Sutherland will continue to be involved with the CIPR as co-opted member of the CIPR Board.

Laura and Katrine

Chair, Katrine Pearson said: “I’m looking forward to working with what is a very strong and diverse committee to deliver on behalf of our Scotland members in the coming year. Education is a key passion of mine and I think there is a huge untapped opportunity to be telling more young people about what the PR industry can offer them and ensure we attract the flow of talent we need to keep the industry dynamic. Professionalism will also be a focus as we encourage practitioners at all levels to develop their skills, undertake CPD and get involved with their industry.”

Jenifer Stirton, herself a former chair and director of marketing and communications at the Student Loans Company re-joins the committee as vice chair while Fiona Wilson, head of news at the Scottish Government, takes over from Joe Walton as group secretary. Treasurer Grant Thoms remain in his role for the a third term.

Joining the committee are Clare Smith, Head of Marketing at the Scottish Government; David Russell, Communications Manager at East Lothian Council; Glenise Borthwick, Head of Communications at the General Teaching Council of Scotland; Nathalie Agnew, Director of Muckle Media and Susanne Cameron-Nielsen, Head of External Relations (Scotland) at The Royal Pharmaceutical Society.

At the meeting, Ruth Fry and Matthew Pittam stood down as committee members. Kenny Macdonald, Andrew Watson and Sandra Steel continue into next year.

During the AGM, former chair Laura Sutherland presented on the committee’s performance over the past twelve months. In particular she highlighted the strong work ethic, increased partnership working and enhanced planning by the committee.

Held at the Blythswood Hotel in Glasgow,the Scottish committee reported its highest ever levels of membership. The group remains the second largest regional group outside of London.

Treasurer Grant Thoms presented the group’s finances which showed a record surplus that is to be reinvested in activities. The attendees also heard from Sarah Pinch, 2014 CIPR president-elect and Alastair McCapra, CIPR chief executive officer.

Former chair Caroline Binnie was presented with her Fellowship from Alastair McCapra.

CIPR Scotland Committee

  • Chair -Katrine Pearson
  • Vice Chair – Jenifer Stirton
  • Treasurer –Grant Thoms
  • Secretary – Fiona Wilson
  • Member –Sandra Steel
  • Member –Kenny McDonald
  • Member – David Russell
  • Member – Susanne Cameron Neilsen
  • Member –Nathalie Agnew
  • Member – Glenise Borthwick
  • Member- Andrew Watson
  • Member -Claire Smith

Read Original Post

Leave a Reply